Crawford County Ohio Sheriff's Office OffenderWatch®
sex offender management, mapping and email alert program

Offender Watch Page


On January 1, 2008 many changes become effective to the sex offender registration laws in Ohio. Currently the state has about 26,000 registered sex offenders under eight classifications. Under the new law, offenders will be classified under a three-tier system. The level has been assigned based on the crime (s) of which the offender was convicted. It will require longer registration times for felons and mandatory community notification for some offenders once considered low level.

Under the new Tier system some offenders must now register more often and for longer periods.                

- Tier 1 Offenders must register once per year for 15 years.

- Tier 2 Offenders must now register every 180 days for 25 years.

- Tier 3 Offenders must register every 90 days for life.

                    - Sexually Oriented Offenders must register once per year for 10 years

                    - Habitual Sex Offender must register once a year for 20 years

                    - Sexual Predators must register every 90 days for life.


In addition each offender will now be required to provide the Sheriffs Office with more information about themselves at the times they register. That information will include all vehicles registered to them or which they may operate, all professional licenses, including passports and Visa's, and all internet accounts they may have, including e-mail addresses and any MySpace or similar accounts they may use.

For more information you may contact S.O.R.N. officers Eric Johns or Jason Tupps 8am-4pm at (419) 563-2886.